Topic 2: Summary & Comments

This topic is definitely something that I believe is quite important in the current society now where everyone rely heavily on the digital world. Before the start of this topic, I personally feel that most of us probably didn’t really pay much attention to the type of online identities we portray for ourselves and the consequences that comes with it.

Photo credit: Unitive via Google

Clinton’s blog mentioned about how he uses his online identities as a “marketing” tool for himself to attract potential employers out there. This is something which probably didn’t came across my mind as I thought that separating my professional lifestyle and private lifestyle will be sufficient. But anything that is posted on the web is exposed to everyone and anyone part of your private lifestyle identity may probably be a potential employer in the future (you never really know). Like what Forbes says: “Don’t let social media derail your career.”

On the other hand, Wei Jie’s blog also pointed out an important aspect of having multiple identities, privacy. The video he shared really scared me because I really wouldn’t want something like this to happen to me. The increase of such online crimes has definitely created awareness in people who are concerned with their safety and privacy. Jamie Campbell’s article has proven otherwise of Mark Zuckerberg’s declaration of people sharing all sorts of information online. They may not directly prove that they are concerned with their privacy but they do take more responsibility in what they post on the web to prevent privacy invasion.

This topic has taught me to handle my multiple identities with more precaution taking into concerns of employment, safety and privacy issues. Single or multiple identities, it doesn’t really matters, but it’s more of how we choose to manage and maintain our identities.

View my comments at Clinton’s & WeiJie’s blogs.

Leave a comment